Are You Another Multi-tasker?

Multi-tasking has to be one of the most unpopular and overused buzz words in business that it borderlines on annoying.  Check that, it IS annoying!  And yet, everyone multitasks in some fashion or form, we all do it.  Some say that multitasking can be good for us as long as performing learned activities that do not require our frontal lobe.  Others say, it’s detrimental to how are brain operates causing us to be overstimulated, overworked and no where near as productive we think it makes us.  Whether we agree or disagree if multitasking is or has been beneficial in our lives and work, we all have our reasons why we try to do as much as we can at one time.  Here are some of my reasons:

  • I want to maximize my hours
  • I want to get as much done in the day so I can spend my evenings how I like
  • Some tasks are so simple, I feel I don’t need to wait to do one first and the other later
  • I want to make the following days easier or at least, not as exhausting
  • I need to
  • I have so much going on, that if I wait till I’m done with one project, I’ll never get around to starting the others
  • Why not?
  • Sometimes I forget things even when I write them down so I try to do them when the notion comes across my mind
  • Everyone else I know multitasks and it doesn’t seem to be bothering them (you gotta love the peer pressure answer)
  • There’s not enough hours in the day
  • This task/assignment/ project/ report/ presentation/ brief is due tomorrow/ this week/ soon/in the near future and I need to get it done
  • I don’t think of it as multitasking, I’m just knocking things off the “to-do” list

Am I right or just fooling myself? What are your reasons for multitasking?  Wish you could do more of it?  Or less?  Do you think you’re more productive juggling multiple things at a time?  Do you even know the difference?  Have we as a people (particularly in the US) become so overstimulated that we’ve overlooked multitasking as just another thing we’ve incorporated into our lives?

One thought on “Are You Another Multi-tasker?

  1. […] Are You Another Multi-tasker? (intelboutiqueblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

